CHS updates

CHS, NDSU partnership prepares cooperative leaders for change

Leading for Results 2019 cooperative graduates

CHS Cooperative Resources leaders Lisa Husby and Katy Winecke and CHS president and CEO Jay Debertin joined NDSU faculty members Derek Lehmberg and William Nganje to honor the first graduates of the Leading for Results program. Top, from left, Husby, David Fiene, Jason Tews, Debertin, Brian Streveler. Middle, from left, Tal Holmes, Nathan Preuss, Joel Marcott, Keith Holm, Jeremy Henkels. Bottom, from left, Jared Landmark, Troy Kuenzi, Travis Halvorson, Jesse Betters, Lehmberg, Nganje, Winecke.

Mar 11, 2019

CHS has recognized the first graduates of a new cooperative leadership program that combines real-world management lessons with the academic strength of North Dakota State University (NDSU). The 18 graduates are leaders from 17 cooperatives across the United States.
“The Leading for Results program was created specifically for cooperatives by CHS and NDSU, with the shared goals of transforming cooperatives for long-term success, developing the next generation of ag leaders and enhancing the cooperative owner experience,” says Mark Biedenfeld, vice president, CHS Cooperative Resources. “Innovative courses like Leading for Results – with instruction by NDSU’s world-class faculty – help create a strategic advantage for forward-thinking cooperatives.”

The six-month course is one example of Cooperative Leadership Academy programs offered by CHS Cooperative Resources, a team that is focused on helping member cooperatives with their strategy, talent and leadership development needs. Participants who complete Leading for Results can apply for a waiver of eight master’s-level credits toward a degree at NDSU.

The following leaders comprise the inaugural graduation class: 

  • Jesse Betters, CEO, Stephenson Marketing Co-op, Stephenson, Mich.
  • Jason Brancel, CEO, Agfinity, Inc., Eaton, Colo.
  • Adam DeLawyer, executive vice president of energy and retail sales, Landmark Services Cooperative, Cottage Grove, Wis.
  • Clark Erickson, chief operating officer, Petro Serve USA, West Fargo, N.D.
  • David Fiene, finance and business process manager, Premier Cooperative, Mount Horeb, Wis.
  • Travis Halvorson, general manager, Farmers Union Oil Mohall/Sherwood, Mohall, N.D. 
  • Jeremy Henkels, executive vice president of shared services, Agfinity, Inc., Eaton, Colo.
  • Jamie Hoggarth, CEO, Farmers Union Oil Company, Kenmare, N.D.
  • Keith Holm, CEO, Federation Cooperative, Black River Falls, Wis.
  • Tal Holmes, seed and sales manager, United Prairie, LLC, Tolono, Ill.
  • Nicholas Krehbiel, chief compliance officer, Kanza Cooperative Association, Iuka, Kan.
  • Troy Kuenzi, president, Pratum Co-op, Salem, Ore.
  • Jared Landmark, CEO, Sioux Valley Co-op, Watertown, S.D.
  • Joel Marcott, CEO/general manager, Consumers Cooperative, Sauk City, Wis. 
  • Nathan Preuss, general manager, Gully Tri-Co-op, Bemidji, Minn.
  • Brian Streveler, general manager/CEO, Heartland Cooperative Services, Dorchester, Wis.
  • Jason Tews, vice president of grain, United Farmers Cooperative, Winthrop, Minn.
  • David Williams, general manager, Agland Co-op, Wolf Point, Mont. 

Leading for Results prepares leaders for change and advances their expertise in strategic planning and execution, leadership and communication, finance, governance and risk management. To learn more and download the Cooperative Leadership Academy catalog, visit